Governor Cuomo is getting serious about enforcing the 19 state travel advisory and quarantine rule. He announced yesterday that there would be "Enforcement Teams" stationed at the Albany International Airport enforcing the travel advisory, enforcing the 14-day quarantine, and getting contact information from anyone flying in from the 19 states on the list.

The states on the 14-day quarantine list include Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah.

During Monday's coronavirus update Governor Cuomo said, "New York's success in fighting the COVID-19 virus is under two threats: lack of compliance and the virus coming to New York from other states with increasing infection rates."

The additional enforcement comes on the heels of three passengers on a Delta flight from Atlanta that tested positive for the coronavirus. It's unclear if they self quarantined or not. However, it points out the need for enforcement and making sure the department of health has contact information for people flying into New York from states with a travel advisory.

Airports and ports of entry all over New York State will have these enforcement teams. The enforcement teams will be comprised of State Department Of Health employees and staff supported by State Police personnel. Travelers will be met by the enforcement teams at gates and will request proof of completion of the State Department Of Health traveler form.

Governor Cuomo also said in his press conference Monday that travelers who leave the airport without completing the form will be subject to a $2,000 fine.

Zoey 103.9 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app


CHECK OUT: Abandoned Catskill Game Farm in Photos


More From Zoey 103.9